Cincinnati Design Awards honors wide range of local projects

Friday night, five local design organizations will come together at the Contemporary Arts Center in downtown Cincinnati to celebrate the year's best architecture, interior design, graphic design and landscape architecture projects at the Cincinnati Design Awards.

The multidisciplinary event will honor work created by Cincinnati-area firms that encompasses a wide spectrum of project types, ranging from local Cincinnati endeavors to initiatives as far-reaching as China and Europe. "The fact that it is
multi-disciplinary makes it totally unique—we don't believe there are any other professional design awards programs like ours," says Jeffrey A Sackenheim, Vice President of SHP Leading Design and Co-Chair of the awards.

The submittals are reviewed in a blind jury format by a diverse panel of design professionals from around the country who are recognized leaders within their organizations. Jurors include Meg Calkins, Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture at Ball State University; Justin Molloy, Director of Education and Professional Development at the Society of Experiential Graphic Design in Washington, D.C.; Matthew Kreilich, Principal at Snow Kreilich Architects in Minneapolis; Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, Senior Associate at MSR Design in Minneapolis; and Elizabeth T. Olson, Vice President-Design Brand Expressions & Inspiration at Procter & Gamble.

Now in its 18th year, the awards program also presents an annual scholarship to a local arts/design/building organization. This year's recipient is the Greater Cincinnati STEM Collaborative, a nonprofit on a mission to create a robust STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) pipeline of talent to meet the accelerating demand for STEM jobs in our region.

Raphaela Platow, The Alice & Harris Weston Director at the CAC, will serve as the event host. Sponsoring organizations include local chapters of the American Institute of Architects, International Interior Design Association, American Society of Interior Designers, Society of Experiential Graphic Design and American Society of Landscape Architects.
The event begins at 6 p.m., Friday, Nov. 14 with a reception and dinner, with the awards presentation following at 8 p.m. Tickets are still available—$85 for an individual and $650 for a discounted group of eight—but reservations are required. Visit the CDA Facebook page for more information or to purchase tickets.

Enjoy this story? Sign up for free solutions-based reporting in your inbox each week.

Read more articles by Sarah Whitman.

Sarah Whitman is a freelance writer/editor with an emphasis on design and creativity. She served as Managing Editor of Soapbox Media from 2012 to 2014.